Author Interview MA Church

MA4Please welcome MA Church for an author interview to support her new release

How long have you been writing?

Actually, I haven’t been writing very long. Hmmm, maybe a couple of years? I got my start back in 2010. I was surfing the net and was looking for free short stories to read. I ran across this site called Literotica and stumbled across the Gay Male section. I was hooked, lol.

Somehow I’d missed all this. And boy, did I scrounge around there reading every single story! There were some very good ones, and some very, very bad ones, lol. After reading there for half a year, I decided to try my hand at writing a story.

What made you decide that you wanted to put yourself out there to publish?MA12 MA10

What finally pushed me into pubbing was winning a winter themed contest on Literotica several years ago. I’d been writing The Harvest series there. So I wrote a Christmas story having to do with the characters from Harvest and entered it. *laugh* It won first place. What’s significant about that was this was *not* a M/M contest. Most of the entries were M/F actually. That helped make my mind up.

 

Would you ever write a hetero romance? Why or why not?

I did! And it was a huge PITA. LOL. It was a shifter story I posted at Literotica under another pen name. Gawd, I hated every minute of it. The funny thing was, I had trouble with the female part. (*snort* this is where I mention I’m female lol.) Writing the male POV was a breeze, and I had lots of fun with him. I’ve threatened to go back and rewrite the story as M/M.

Your first published book?

It was a book I’d written on Literotica. I’d started posting chapter on another site. The next thing I knew, the publisher contacted me and offered a contract. The book, Darkness Awaits, is no longer available.

What books are you reading at the moment? It’s okay to give a fellow author a plug!

I just finished Off Course by Bailey Bradford.  I’ve been a fan of hers for a while now, but recently I’ve had the chance to get to know her. I also recently reread Striker by Lexi Ander, another author I’m a fan of and who I’ve gotten to know some too.

What are you working on now?

Right now, I’m putting the finishing touches on The Harvest: Journey’s End. It’s due out in early January. Along with that, I’m working on Behind the Eight Ball. This is book 2 in the Fur, Fangs, and Felines series and is about Heller. He’s one of the betas in Trouble Comes in Threes and he really, really does not like humans. *raises eyebrow* Their goddess has plans for Heller, lol.

When creating your characters, do you have models in mind or are they totally fictional?

MA8

I usually have an idea of what the character looks like, and then I go searching for a likeness. SmallMA7 things might not match, but that’s okay. I just need the visual reference. But I do that with the setting too. If there’s a bar, I go looking for pics of bars. If it’s a bedroom… same deal.

I looked for a certain type of house for the guys in Trouble Comes in Threes, had millions of cat pictures, had pics of home garages that Kirk might work out of, pictures of cats playing in the snow… LOL. Did I mention I’m visual???

For the men in your books, commando or underwear?

I had to actually stop and think about that, lol. I’d say the most of them are commando. But I write a lot of shifters and it’s easier to go without.  Less to strip off when shifting. Or so they tell me, lol.

Favorite character in one of your books?

Hmm, that would probably be Dale from The Harvest series. He’s been with me on and off for about four years now.

Are you tired of Lady Gaga yet?

Who, lol?

Yeah, yeah, I know who she is, but I don’t listen to her music. Outside of her weird costumes, I don’t much pay attention to her

Leave a Reply

